Skip to main content

What is IPCC

Home > About us > What is IPCC

The Independent Police Complaints Council (IPCC) is an independent body established under the Independent Police Complaints Council Ordinance (IPCCO) (Cap. 604, Laws of Hong Kong) to observe, monitor and review the handling and investigation of Reportable Complaints against the Police by the Commissioner of Police.

The IPCC comprises a Chairman, three Vice-Chairmen and no less than eight Members, all appointed by the Chief Executive. They are drawn from a wide spectrum of society including the legal, medical, education, social welfare, and business sectors and Legislative Council Members. This composition enables the IPCC to draw upon the diverse expertise of its Members to monitor CAPO’s investigation of complaints against the Police in an independent, impartial and thorough manner. As of 31 March 2017, the IPCC comprises 28 Members.

The IPCC became a statutory body when the IPCC Ordinance went into effect on 1 June 2009. The Police have a statutory duty to comply with the IPCC’s requests. The Ordinance enhanced the independence of the IPCC in carrying out its monitoring functions.


top
Sitemap

跳至主要內容

關於監警會

主頁 > 關於我們 > 關於監警會

監警會是根據《獨立監察警方處理投訴委員會條例》(《監警會條例》)(香港法例第604章)成立的獨立機構,其職能是觀察、監察和覆檢警務處處長就須匯報投訴的處理和調查工作。

監警會由一名主席、三名副主席和不少於八名委員組成。委員全部由行政長官委任,分別來自社會不同界別,包括法律界、醫學界、教育界、社福界、商界和立法會議員等。監警會借助委員多方面的專業知識,獨立、公正、透徹地監察投訴警察課的調查工作。截至2017年3月31日,監警會共有28名委員。

監警會於2009年6月1日成為法定機構。隨著《監警會條例》生效,警方有法定責任遵從監警會根據條例所提出的要求。條例進一步提高監警會的獨立性,以履行其監察職能。


頁首
網頁指南